NUS Lion Dance was formed in 1985 by undergraduates and alumni who share a passion for Chinese lion dance. As the oldest University-level lion dance troupe in Singapore, the troupe frequently receives invitations for numerous performances during the Lunar New Year festive season and throughout the year, both on and off campus.

NUS Lion Dance is instructed by Master Chan Siew Kee, a vastly experienced lion dance performer and trainer, and aims to promote lion dance as a cultural form to the NUS community and to spread awareness and appreciation of this art form within NUS and beyond. NUS Lion Dance has been a member of NUS Centre For the Arts since 2004.

Key Past Events

  • 2013Official opening of NUS University Town

Social Media Links


Hiew Yun Cheong


Coach Hiew Yun Cheong started coaching NUS Lion Dance in December 2016. A disciple of Honorary Coach of NUS Lion Dance, Master Chan Siew Kee, Coach Hiew is currently also the Secretary General of World Sar Ping Lion Dance Federation and is coaching Dunman High School Scout Lion Dance Troupe. In 2012, Coach Hiew was appointed as Chairman of Foreign Affairs sub-committee of the 23rd Management Committee under Singapore Wushu Dragon & Lion Dance Federation.

Born in 1968, Coach Hiew started his lion dance journey when he joined Dunman High School Scout Lion Dance Troupe in Secondary 1. He took on the role as assistant instructor of the troupe upon graduation. In 1991, he joined the Singapore Hok Kiaw Athletic Association. He has also organized Singapore’s first ever Southern Lion Drum Beating Competition in 1994, was certified as International Lion Dance judge by the International Dragon and Lion Dance Association in 1995, became the disciple of Master Chan in 1999 and was certified as Lion Dance Instructor by Singapore National Wushu Federation in 2004. Coach Hiew has also been invited to many local and overseas lion dance troupes and events as advisors and guest instructor.

Coach Hiew has since travelled to many countries for cultural exchange and performances, including China, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia and Switzerland.